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IDAPA 33
TITLE 01
CHAPTER 01

IDAPA 33 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

33.01.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

000. LEGALAUTHORITY.

The Rules of the Idaho Real Estate Commission contained herein have been adopted pursuant to Section 54-2007,
Idaho Code. Any violation of these rules, or of any provision of Chapter 20, Title 54, shall be sufficient cause for
disciplinary action as prescribed in Sections 54-2059 and 54-2060, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 33.01.01, “Rules of the Idaho Real Estate Commission,”
IDAPA 33, Title 01, Chapter O1. (3-15-02)

02. Scope. These rules contain the requirements for implementation and enforcement of the Idaho Real
Estate Licensing Law and the Idaho Real Estate Brokerage Representation Act, contained in Chapter 20, Title 54,
Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

002. WRITTEN INTERPRETATIONS.

In accordance with Section 67-5201(19)(b)(iv), this agency has written statements which pertain to the interpretation
of the rules of this chapter, or to documentation of compliance with the rules of this chapter. These documents are
available for public inspection and copying at cost at the Idaho Real Estate Commission, 575 E. Parkcenter Blvd.,
Suite 180, Boise ID 83706. (3-15-02)

003.  ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
All contested cases shall be governed by IDAPA 33.01.02.000 et seq., “Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Idaho
Real Estate Commission.” (3-15-02)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
There are no materials incorporated by reference. (3-15-02)

005. OFFICE HOURS, MAILING AND PHYSICAL ADDRESS, PHONE NUMBERS.

The office hours for Real Estate Commission are 8§ a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excepting state holidays.
The Commission’s mailing address and office location is 575 E. Parkcenter Blvd., Suite 180, Boise ID 83706. The
telephone number is (208) 334-3285. (3-15-02)

006. ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES.

A person’s entry of the identification number assigned by the Commission, or approved for the person’s use by the
Commission, shall constitute the person’s signature when transmitted as part of or in connection with an electronic
document or procedure in the course of business with the Commission. Any identification number assigned or
approved by the Commission shall be unique to the person using it, capable of verification, and conform to all
applicable rules, guidelines and policies established by the Commission. (3-15-02)

007. -- 099. (RESERVED)

RULES 100 THROUGH 199
APPLICATION, LICENSURE AND TERMINATION OF LICENSES

100. LICENSE FEES.
License fees are established as follows. (3-15-02)

01. Fees For Licensed Individuals. The fees for an initial or renewing license for broker, associate

Section 000 Page 2 IAC Archive 2017



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 33.01.01
Real Estate Commission Rules of the Idaho Real Estate Commission

broker, or salesperson shall be one hundred sixty dollars ($160) per license period, which fees include the twenty

dollar ($20) fee prescribed in Section 54-2070, Idaho Code. (3-19-07)
02. Fees For Licensed Legal Business Entities. The fee for an initial or renewing license for each
legal business entity shall be fifty dollars ($50) per license period. (10-1-05)

101. LATE LICENSE RENEWAL FEES.
When a license renewal application is submitted after the license period has elapsed, there shall be, in addition to the
fees for renewing the license, a late fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25). (3-26-08)

102. FEE TO PRINT LICENSE CERTIFICATE.
The fee for having the commission print a license certificate shall be fifteen dollars ($15) for each certificate.
(3-26-08)

103. FEE TO COMPILE EDUCATION OR LICENSE HISTORY.
The fee for having the commission compile and certify a licensee’s education history or license history shall be ten
dollars ($10) for each compilation. (3-26-08)

104. FEE FOR BRANCH OFFICE LICENSE.
The fee for an initial or renewing license for each branch office shall be fifty dollars ($50) per license period.
(3-26-08)

105. CONDITIONS TO RENEW EXPIRED LICENSE.
The Commission may accept a licensee’s application to renew an expired license upon the following conditions:

(3-29-10)

01. Payment of Late Fee. The applicant must pay the late license renewal fee established by this

chapter; (3-29-10)
02. Renewal After Expiration of Active License. If the license expired on active license status, the

licensee must complete and submit with the application, on the form approved by the Commission, one (1) of the
following: (3-29-10)
a. A certificate attesting that during the period the license was expired, the licensee did not do or

attempt to do any acts described in the definitions of real estate broker or salesperson in Section 54-2004, Idaho
Code; or (3-29-10)
b. A certificate admitting that during the period the license was expired, the licensee did or attempted

to do an act described in the definitions of real estate broker or salesperson in Section 54-2004, Idaho Code, and
either: (3-29-10)
1. Agree to pay the proposed civil fine, which amount will be in accordance with the scheduled

amount approved by the Commission by motion; or (3-29-10)
ii. Request a hearing to determine any fine under the procedures set forth in the Idaho Administrative
Procedure Act, Chapter 52, Title 67, and the Commission’s rules under IDAPA 33.01.02, “Rules of Practice and
Procedure of the Idaho Real Estate Commission Governing Contested Cases.” (3-29-10)
03. Investigate or Discipline a Licensee. Nothing in this Section limits the ability of the Commission

to investigate or discipline a licensee for violating Subsection 54-2018(3), Idaho Code, or for violating any other
provision of the Real Estate License Law or the rules promulgated by the Commission. (3-29-10)

106. -- 116. (RESERVED)

117. CERTIFICATION OF MANDATORY ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE.
Every licensee, upon obtaining or renewing an active real estate license in the state of Idaho shall have in effect and
maintain a policy of errors and omissions insurance when required by Section 54-2013, Idaho Code, to cover all
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activities contemplated under Chapter 20, Title 54, Idaho Code and shall certify such coverage to the Commission in
the form and manner prescribed by statute and in these rules. (4-11-15)

01. Certification of Licensees Under Group Insurance Plan. Licensees covered under the Group
Insurance Plan, as provided for in Section 118 of these rules, shall be deemed to have satisfied the certification
requirement of Section 117. The effective date of coverage, however, shall be the day of final license approval.

(4-2-03)

02. Certification of Licensees Obtaining Independent Coverage. Licensees obtaining independent
coverage, as provided for in Section 119 of these rules, shall obtain a Certificate of Coverage, signed by an authorized
agent or employee of the insurance carrier, which certificate shall be in a form approved by the Commission,
reflecting proof of insurance meeting the requirements established by the Commission. Upon request by the
Commission the licensee shall produce for inspection the Certificate of Insurance. (4-2-03)

118. GROUP INSURANCE PLAN.
The Commission shall make available to all active licensees, subject to terms and availability from a qualified
insurance carrier, a policy of Errors and Omissions Insurance under a Group Plan obtained by the Commission.

(3-15-02)

01. Qualified Insurance Carrier Defined. For the purposes of Section 118, a “qualified insurance

carrier” shall mean an insurance carrier: (3-15-02)

a. Which, for the entire term of its contract shall provide the Group Plan of errors and omissions

insurance contemplated by these rules, maintains an A.M. Best Company rating of B+ or better, and an A.M. Best

Financial Size Category of Class VI or higher; (3-15-02)

b. Which is and will remain for the policy term duly authorized by the Idaho Department of Insurance

to do business in the state of Idaho as an insurance carrier; (3-15-02)

c. Which is and will remain for the policy term qualified and authorized by the Idaho Department of
Insurance to write policies of errors and omissions insurance in Idaho of the type contemplated by these rules;

(3-15-02)

d. Which, after competitive bidding, has been notified by the Commission that it is the successful

bidder for the Group Plan to provide the errors and omissions insurance contemplated by these rules; and (3-15-02)

e. Which has entered into a contract to provide said group errors and omissions plan in conformity
with said contract, these rules and the Idaho Real Estate License Law. (3-15-02)

02. Right to Cancel. The group policy obtained by the Commission under these rules shall be available
to all active licensees with no right on the part of the carrier to cancel any licensee. (3-15-02)

03. Approved Policy. The group policy obtained by the Commission shall cover all activities
contemplated under Chapter 20, Title 54, Idaho Code, shall be subject to such terms and conditions as are customary
in the insurance industry for policies of errors and omissions insurance, which are otherwise permissible under Idaho
law and the rules of the Idaho Insurance Department, and which are contained in a policy of insurance which has been
approved by the Department of Insurance; provided, however, that said Group Plan shall provide, at a minimum, the

following terms and conditions: (3-15-02)
a. Not less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) limit liability coverage for each occurrence,

not including costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
b. An annual aggregate limit of not less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000), not including

costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
c. The minimum coverage requirements of Subsection 118.03 shall apply to each individual licensee;
(3-15-02)
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d. A deductible amount of not greater than three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500), which shall
include costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
e. A reasonable premium not to exceed the maximum premium set forth in Section 54-2013, Idaho
Code; (3-15-02)
f. A policy period equal to each licensee's two (2) year license renewal date or the prorated
equivalent, or, if an annually renewable policy, a statement of the policy period, and in either case, the policy shall
provide for continuous coverage during the policy period; (3-15-02)
g. An extended reporting period per insured of at least ninety (90) days following termination of the
policy period; and (3-15-02)
h. Prior acts coverage shall be offered to licensees with continuous past coverage. (3-15-02)
04. Standard of Group Policy Determined. For the purposes of these rules and the fulfillment of the

Commission's obligations under Idaho Real Estate License Law, approval by the Idaho Department of Insurance of
any group policy of errors and omissions insurance to be issued to the state of Idaho pursuant to these rules shall be
conclusive proof that the terms and conditions of said policy meet the standards and practices in the insurance
industry with respect to such policies, and that said policy meets the requirements of Idaho law and the rules of the
Idaho Insurance Department with respect to such policies of insurance. (3-15-02)

119. INDEPENDENTLY OBTAINED ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE.
Licensees may obtain errors and omissions insurance independently of the Group Policy available through the
Commission, subject, however, to the terms and conditions set forth in these rules. (3-15-02)

01. “Independently Obtained” Insurance Defined. The term “independently obtained” insurance
shall mean a policy of errors and omissions insurance issued to each individual licensee or issued to the firm with
which the licensee is affiliated and which shall provide, at a minimum, all of the following terms and conditions:

(3-15-02)

a. Covers all activities contemplated under Chapter 20, Title 54, Idaho Code, under such terms and
conditions as are customary in the insurance industry for policies of errors and omissions insurance, which are
otherwise permissible under Idaho law and the rules of the Idaho Department of Insurance, and which are contained
in a policy of errors and omissions insurance which has been approved by the Idaho Department of Insurance;

(3-15-02)

b. If an “individual” policy specifies not less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) limit

liability coverage for each occurrence, not including costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
c. If a “firm” policy specifies not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) limit liability
coverage for each occurrence, not including costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
d. If an “individual” policy, an annual aggregate limit of not less than three hundred thousand dollars
($300,000), not including costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
e. If a “firm” policy, an annual aggregate limit of not less than one million dollars ($1,000,000), not
including costs of investigation and defense; (3-15-02)
f. If an “individual” policy, the minimum coverage limits specified in Subsection 119.01 shall be
available to each licensee; (3-15-02)
g. If a “firm” policy, the minimum coverage limits specified in Subsection 119.01 shall apply to the

firm; (3-15-02)
h. An extended reporting period per insured of at least ninety (90) days following termination of the
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policy period; (3-15-02)
i. No policy of errors and omissions insurance shall be deemed “independently obtained” for

purposes of this rule unless the insurance company specifically agrees in writing that it will not terminate, cancel,
lapse, fail or refuse to renew or modify such policy without the company first providing the Commission and the
licensee with thirty (30) days' written notice; (3-15-02)

je Contains a policy period equal to each licensee's two (2) year license renewal date or the prorated
equivalent and which provided for continuous coverage during said policy period, or, if an annually renewable policy,
a statement of the policy period and, in either case, the agreement of the insurance carrier that it will not modify,
terminate, cancel, lapse or not renew the policy without first providing the Commission and licensee thirty (30) days

written notice; and (3-15-02)
k. Prior acts coverage shall be offered to licensees with continuous past coverage. (3-15-02)
02. Approval by Department of Insurance. For the purposes of these rules and the fulfillment of the

licensees' obligations under Idaho Real Estate License Law, approval by the Idaho Department of Insurance of a
policy of independently obtained errors and omissions insurance covering the licensee shall create a presumption that
the terms and conditions of said policy meet the standards and practices in the insurance industry with respect to such
policies, and that said policy meets the requirements of the law and rules of the Idaho Department of Insurance with
respect to such policies of insurance. Approval by the Department of Insurance, however, does not create any
presumption of equivalency in coverage as required by Idaho Real Estate License Law and these rules. (3-15-02)

03. Carrier Issuing Independent Policy. A carrier issuing an independent policy shall meet all of the
requirements of a qualified carrier set forth in Subsections 118.01.a. through 118.01.c. and shall maintain an A.M.
Best Company rating of B+ or better and an A.M. Best Financial Size Category of Class VI or higher. (3-15-02)

120. CERTIFICATION A PREREQUISITE FOR LICENSE ISSUANCE OR RENEWAL.

No applicant for an original active license or for renewal of an active license shall be issued such active license unless
the applicant has certified to the Commission, in the form and manner approved by the Commission, that he is in
compliance with the insurance requirements of this chapter. This certification of compliance by the applicant shall
satisfy the filing requirement of Section 54-2013, Idaho Code. (4-2-03)

121. FAILURE TO MAINTAIN INSURANCE.
Failure of a licensee to obtain and maintain insurance coverage required by Section 117 shall result in inactivation of
any active license issued pursuant to Idaho Real Estate License Law or denial of any application for issuance or

renewal of an active license. Failure to maintain insurance as required herein shall be deemed insufficient application
for licensure under Section 67-5254, Idaho Code. (4-2-03)

01. Notice of Noncompliance. Within five (5) business days of the date the Commission is notified
that a licensee does not have required coverage, the Commission shall notify the affected licensee of noncompliance.
Notice shall be sent by first class mail to the licensee's business or residence address, as reflected in the Commission's
records, and a copy of the notice shall be sent to the licensee's broker, if any. The notice shall provide that the licensee
has ten (10) business days in which to comply with the law and these rules regarding errors and omissions insurance.
Failure to comply at the end of ten (10) business days shall result in the license being automatically inactivated.

(4-11-15)

02. Failure to Maintain Insurance. Any failure of a licensee to maintain errors and omissions
insurance while on active license status, regardless whether coverage is later obtained and made retroactive by the
carrier, shall constitute a violation of these rules, and shall be grounds for disciplinary action as provided in Sections
54-2059 and 54-2060, Idaho Code, including but not limited to the assessment of civil fines. A late renewal is
considered failure to maintain insurance and constitutes a violation of the law. (3-29-10)

122. FALSIFICATION OF CERTIFICATES.

Any licensee who, acting alone or in concert with others, wilfully or knowingly causes or allows a certificate of
coverage to be filed with, or produced to, the Commission which is false, fraudulent, or misleading, shall be subject
to disciplinary action, including but not limited to suspension or revocation of license, in accordance with Chapter 52,
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Title 67, Idaho Code; provided, however, that nothing herein shall entitle such licensee to notice and hearing on the
automatic inactivation of license provided for in Subsection 121.01. (4-2-03)

123. -- 199. (RESERVED)

RULES 200 THROUGH 299
OFFICE OPERATIONS

200. BRANCH OFFICES.

The current license certificates for the branch office, the branch manager, and for each sales associate conducting

business from the branch office shall be prominently displayed or available for public inspection at the branch office.
(5-3-03)

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

RULES 300 THROUGH 399
BUSINESS CONDUCT

300. DISPUTES CONCERNING COMMISSIONS AND FEES.
The Idaho Real Estate Commission shall not be involved in the resolution of disputes between licensees or between
licensees and buyers and sellers concerning matters of commissions or fees. (3-15-02)

301. PRICE FIXING.
The Idaho Real Estate Commission neither recommends nor recognizes any agreement to fix or impose uniform rates
of commission on any real estate transaction by licensed real estate brokers. (3-15-02)

302. TITLE OPINIONS.
No real estate broker or sales associate shall pass judgment upon or give an opinion with respect to the
merchantability of the title to property in any transaction. (3-15-02)

303. LEGAL OPINIONS.
A broker or sales associate shall not discourage any party to a real estate transaction from seeking the advice of an
attorney. (3-15-02)

304. (RESERVED)

305. DESIGNATED BROKER PERMITTED ACCESS EDUCATION RECORDS OF THE BROKER’S
LICENSED SALES ASSOCIATES.

As provided for in Section 74-106, Idaho Code, the Commission may establish a mechanism to enable a designated
broker to access and review the electronically-kept continuing education record of any licensee currently licensed
with the broker. Such records are otherwise exempt from the disclosure requirements of the Public Records Act, Title
74, Chapter 1, Idaho Code. Access to records shall be through the means made available by the Commission by
motion. (3-30-07)

306. -- 399. (RESERVED)
RULES 400 THROUGH 499
CONTINUING EDUCATION
400. -- 401. (RESERVED)
402. APPROVED TOPICS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION.

The primary purpose of continuing education is to help assure that licensees possess the knowledge, skills, and
competency necessary to function in the real estate business in a manner that protects and serves the public interest,
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or that promotes the professionalism and business proficiency of the licensee. The knowledge or skills taught in an

elective course must enable licensees to better serve real estate consumers. (3-20-14)
01. Topics Approved by the Commission. Approved topic areas for continuing education, as
provided for in Sections 54-2023 and 54-2036, Idaho Code, include the following as they pertain to real estate
brokerage practice and actual real estate knowledge: (5-8-09)
a. Real estate ethics; (3-20-04)
b. Legislative issues that influence real estate practice; (3-20-04)
c. Real estate law; contract law; agency; real estate licensing law and administrative rules; (3-20-04)
d. Fair housing; affirmative marketing; Americans with Disabilities Act; (3-20-04)
e. Real estate financing, including mortgages and other financing techniques; (3-20-04)
f. Real estate market measurement and evaluation; (3-20-04)
g. Land use planning and zoning; land development; construction; energy conservation in building;
(3-20-04)
h. Real estate investment; (3-20-04)
i. Accounting and taxation as applied to real property; (3-20-04)
je Real estate appraising; (3-20-04)
k. Real estate marketing procedures; (5-8-09)
L. Real estate inspections; (3-20-04)
m. Property management; (3-20-04)
n. Timeshares, condominiums and cooperatives; (3-20-04)
0. Real estate environmental issues and hazards, including lead-based paint, underground storage
tanks, radon, etc.; (5-8-09)
p. Water rights; (3-20-04)
q. Brokerage office management and supervision; (3-30-07)
I. Use of technology; (5-8-09)
S. Licensee safety; (3-30-07)
t. Negotiation skills; (3-30-07)
u. Business success. (3-20-14)
02. Other Topics. Upon written request, the Commission may also approve any other topic that
directly relates to real estate brokerage practice and that directly contributes to the accomplishment of the primary
purpose of continuing education. (5-8-09)
03. Topics Not Eligible for Continuing Education Credits. The following activities shall not be
eligible for approval for compliance with the continuing education requirement: (3-20-04)
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a. Those which are specifically exam preparation in nature; (3-20-04)
b. Real estate topics not directly related to real estate brokerage practice. (5-8-09)

403. -- 499. (RESERVED)

RULES 500 THROUGH 599
EDUCATION TEACHING STANDARDS

500. MINIMUM TEACHING STANDARDS OF THE COMMISSION.
All courses offered for credit by a certified provider shall be taught in accordance with the following standards of the
Real Estate Commission: (3-13-08)

01. Certification Requirement. A course required to be taught by a Commission-certified or
Commission-approved instructor shall be taught only by an instructor that is currently approved or certified for that
course; (3-13-08)

02. Outlines and Curriculum. A course must be taught in accordance with the course outline or
curriculum approved by the Commission; (3-13-08)

03. Attendance Requirement. The course instructor shall adhere to the Commission’s written
attendance policy and shall submit credit hours only for students who have successfully met the attendance
requirements for which the course was approved. (3-13-08)

04. Product Promotion and Recruitment. The course instructor shall adhere to the Commission’s
written policies restricting product promotion and recruitment activities in the classroom; (3-13-08)

0s. Professional Mannerism. The course instructor shall conduct himself or herself in a professional
manner when performing instructional duties, and shall not engage in any form of harassment based on the gender,
national origin, race, religion, age or physical or mental disability of any student, and shall not engage in conduct that

degrades or disparages any student or other instructor. (3-13-08)
06. Subject Matter Knowledge. The instructor shall conduct the class in a manner that demonstrates
knowledge of the subject matter being taught; (3-13-08)
07. Competent Teaching SKills. The instructor shall conduct the class in a manner that demonstrates
competency in the following basic teaching skills: (3-13-08)
a. The ability to effectively communicate through speech; (3-13-08)
b. The ability to present instruction in an accurate, logical, orderly and understandable manner and to
respond appropriately to questions from students; (3-13-08)
c. The ability to utilize varied instructional techniques in addition to lecture, such as class discussion,
role playing or other techniques in a manner that enhances learning; (3-13-08)
d. The ability to utilize instructional aids and modern technology in a manner that enhances learning;
(3-13-08)

e. The ability to maintain an appropriate learning environment and effective control of a class;
(3-13-08)
f. The ability to interact with adult students in a manner that encourages students to learn, that avoids
offending the sensibilities of students, and that avoids personal criticism of any other person, including fellow peer
instructors, any agency or any organization. (3-13-08)
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08. Maintaining Exam Security. The instructor shall take reasonable steps to protect the security of
course examinations and shall not allow students to retain copies of final course examinations or the exam answer
key. (3-13-08)

09. Use of Exam Questions Prohibited. The instructor shall not obtain or use, or attempt to obtain or
use, in any manner or form, Idaho real estate licensing examination questions. (3-13-08)

10. Instructor Evaluations. The instructor must maintain, for the course, an annual average of four
point zero (4.0) (based on one to five (1-5) scale) on the standard Commission evaluations for the instructor’s overall
average category. (3-13-08)

501. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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Commission 9
Attendance Requirement 9
Certification Requirement 9
Competent Teaching Skills 9
Instructor Evaluations 10
Maintaining Exam Security 10
Outlines & Curriculum 9
Product Promotion &
Recruitment 9
Subject Matter Knowledge 9
Use of Exam Questions
Prohibited 10

o
Office Operations 7

P
Price Fixing 7
Professional 9
Professional Mannerism, Minimum
Teaching Standards of the
Commission 9

T
Title Opinions 7
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